The Traditional Eight Limbs of Yoga

family doing yoga

The eight limbs of yoga serve as its foundation for allowing a person to have a meaningful and purposeful life. Regardless of the age, Childcare Center in Irvine, California believes that children can grasp abstract concepts, especially moral and ethical conduct and self-discipline which yoga practice instills.

Here are the eight-fold paths of yoga at 24-hour childcare:

  1. Guidelines for living
    Also called Yama, this deals with one’s ethical standards and sense of integrity with five components: non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, non-greed, moderation, and non-lying.
  2. Healthy habits
    Niyama deals with self-discipline and spiritual observances.
  3. Physical exercise
    These are yoga postures called Asanas designed to develop resilience, strength, coordination, and flexibility.
  4. Breathing exercises
    This stage called Pranayama calms and energizes the body by gaining mastery of breathing and connecting it to mind and emotions.
  5. Calming the senses
    Pratyahara helps with anger management and impulse control. This stage helps direct our attention internally and cultivating detachment from our senses.
  6. Concentration
    This increases focus on children. Also called Dharana, this stage proves helpful for their academic aspects.
  7. Meditation
    Dhyana, a form of meditation, is different from concentration. Concentration practices on one-pointed attention while meditation is ultimately a state of being keenly aware without focus.
  8. Connection
    Samadhi cultivates servitude to the greater community and the ability to step out of self-indulging tendencies.

Yoga is one of the after hours childcare programs at Little Leaderz Day Care, Inc.

This entry was posted in Children's Activity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *